Leadership & Staff

Richard S. Kurz, PhD


ASPPH Representative to the Board
Dean Emeritus, University of North Texas Health Science Center School of Public Health

Michelle A. Larkin, JD, MS, RN

Chair, Governance Committee

Associate Chief of Staff and Associate Vice President – Program, Health Group Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

James D. Yager Jr., PhD

Chair, Testing Committee

Edyth H. Schoenrich Professor of Preventive Medicine, Department of Environmental Health Sciences, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Craig H. Blakely, PhD, MPH


Dean, University of Louisville School of Public Health and Information Sciences

Joel M. Lee, DrPH, CPH

Chair, Maintenance of Certification Committee

John A. Drew Professor of Healthcare Administration, and Director, Doctor of Public Health Degree Program, University of Georgia College of Public Health

Kaye Bender, PhD, RN, FAAN

President and CEO, Public Health Accreditation Board

James R. Ebert, MD, MBA, MPH, FAAP, CPH

Oscar Boonshoft Chair and Director, Center for Global Health, Wright State University

Michael Fraser, PhD, CAE, FCPP

ASTHO Executive Director

Camara Phyllis Jones, MD, MPH, PhD, CPH

President-Elect, APHA Research Director, Division of Adult and Community Health, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion

Shari Kinney, DrPH, RN, CPH

Assistant Professor College of Public Health University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

Alan Melnick, MD, MPH, CPH

NACCHO Representative to the Board Health Officer, Clark County Public Health Department

CDR Sam Price, MBA, MPH, CPH

United States Public Health Service Public Health Analyst/Project Officer Health Resources and Services Administration

Alison R. Sullivan, MPH

Consultant - Deloitte Consulting LLP

Nizar K. Wehbi, MD, MPH, MBA, CPH

Assistant Professor in Health Services Research and Administration, University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Public Health

David F. Cruess, PhD, CPH, FACE

Assistant Dean for Graduate Education, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

John R. Finnegan Jr., PhD

Dean, University of Minnesota School of Public Health

Cheryl Healton, DrPH

ASPPH Representative to the Board Dean, New York University Global Institute of Public Health

Laura King, MPH, MCHES

Executive Director, Council on Education for Public Health

John E. McElligott, MPH, CPH

NACCHO Deputy Executive Director Commissioned Officers Association of the U.S. Public Health Service

Ashley Perry, MPH, CPH

Vice President, Strategy Kaufman Hall

Pauline Rolle, MD, MPH, CPH

Medical Director Florida Department of Health in Duval County

Adewale Troutman, MD, MPH, MA, CPH

University of South Florida College of Public Health Director of Public Health Practice and Leadership

Mohammed Akhtar, MD, MPH

Mohammed Akhtar, MD, MPH

Alfred Sommer, MD, MHS

Alfred Sommer, MD, MHS

Allison J. Foster, MBA, CAE


202.296.1099 ext 127


Kate M. Brundage

Certification Program Manager

202.296.1099 ext 164


National Board of Public Health Examiners

1900 M Street NW, Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036   |  202-296-3050  |  info@nbphe.org

© 2017 NBPHE